It’s been six years since I started with HP back in 2000 and the experience has been diverse. I’ve had the Luxury of working in a variety of Countries including Canada, USA and Australia.
 
Most recently my travels have taken me to Sydney Australia to work on a records management solution. While in Sydney I’ve taken in the sites of the Sydney Circular Quay and Darling Harbor, The Rocks, Taronga Zoo, Manly Beach and the downtown area.
 
Working in different countries has given me a different perspective of Canadian culture (Lack of), working on the road and what I love doing – working in tropical areas. I’m sure most people would enjoy this as well since there’s nothing like going to the beach after a long day at work.
 
So what had I learned in my travels? A few key things:
  • Be prepared for anything – Often there are cultural differences as well as climate.
  • Do your homework, search Google for insight from those sharing their experience online.
  • Familiarize yourself with the local laws and customs.
  • If your writing documents make sure you have someone edit your work – avoid using acronyms or terminology that involves slang. Don’t forget to set your spell checker to the region language!
  • Buy maps of the area and get to know where the hotspots are – have for while your there!
  • Check to see if you require power converters – Most hotels will have both 115 and 220 VAC in the bathrooms – you’ll require converters for gadgets.
  • For those long flights bring Extra batteries for your gadgets – I typically have two batteries for my Tablet PC fully charged for those long flight.
  • Bring your IPOD and favorite MP3s.
  • Other annoyances – Visas, Work Permits, Passports.
Have I forgotten anything?
