Researching archive products for SharePoint recently I turned to AvePoint because of my familiarity with their backup products. They have a products called AvePoint Extender Archive for SharePoint Technologies (MOSS 2007 and WSS v3.0) – The technical overview can be found here. The product looks interesting – it will archive documents and sites.

Some of my clients use AvePoint products for backup and restore and management. Overall they like the products but I’ve heard some complaints about user interface and licensing. Not sure if they have the same problems these days.

Speaking with Quest a few months ago they were releasing their SharePoint backup tool to compete with AvePoint and CommVault. I plan on testing their backup software later in the year. For now I’m enjoying the summer – its short in TO.

