UnknownOn my flight back from New jersey recently, I was reminded of my early years in the technology business as a summer student at IBM working in the Financial sector with machines worth millions of dollars. It was an amazing experience that continued on after graduating. As I gained a few more years under my belt working and reading constantly about business, people and technology I began forming principles in which I’d focus my efforts with clients, the team and my personal life.

Specifically, key areas or principals I focus on are as follows:

  • Focus on the customer and your team – success will follow.
  • Build your network. A strong and wide network is a valuable asset.
  • Be Responsive. Know what’s important, prioritize and make sure you’re on top of it.
  • Don’t Overanalyze. Make A Decision. Information is great but often we can’t wait for perfect answers. “A good decision now is better than a perfect decision in two days.”
  • Always Be Learning. Find a mentor. Be a mentor. Keep reading and commit to the long term to become an expert.
  • Think creatively. Just because something has always been done the same way or isn’t broken, doesn’t mean there aren’t better approaches that will result in better outcomes.
  • Have Passion. Focusing too much on money is the #1 career regret. When we care, our work is better and we’re more satisfied.
  • Manage risk. Know where the risks are and their potential impacts to realizing results.

Being driven is key, if you follow your passion at work and in your personal life (very important) you will be successful. Also, establishing check points on progress for each of the points will help you focus as well, perhaps every four to six months. Finally, if you haven’t already done so, take a time management course, you won’t regret it.

